Welcome to Trustpower. The browser that you are currently using is not supported by this site. For best results please upgrade your browser.
Retrieving Data

2017 Trustpower National Community Awards

13-15 April, Queenstown Lakes

Two representatives from each Supreme Winner group are joined by two representatives from the local Council, together with voluntary sector leaders, community sector professionals, members of parliament, and the media.

The National Community Awards take place over three days, with locations alternating between the North and South Island each year. Participants are treated to activities that embody the unique character of the host region, before heading into a day of learning and friendly competition to contest the title of National Supreme Winner.

Each group shares its story through a written submission they’ve prepared earlier and a presentation they give at the event. Groups are judged by both their peers and an independent panel to find three award winners.

The Runner Up, Supreme Winner and recipient of the Whetū Mātaiata Award, which goes to a group with strong potential who will benefit from additional support, are announced at a formal awards function on the Saturday night.

The 2017 Trustpower National Community Awards were announced in Queenstown on Saturday 14 April, 2018.

Whetū Mātaiata Award: Kura Precious Ones Special Needs Support Group, representing Wairoa District.

Runner Up: South Invercargill Urban Rejuvenation Charitable Trust (South Alive), representing Invercargill City and Southland District.

Winner: Edgecumbe Volunteer Fire Brigade, representing Whakatāne District.

Back to Community Awards