Welcome to Trustpower. The browser that you are currently using is not supported by this site. For best results please upgrade your browser.
Retrieving Data

Board of Directors

Trustpower’s Board of Directors governs our business strategy and key decision-making. If you look across our Board members you will see experience in major engineering projects, the evolution of water markets and irrigation economics, IT and customer facing systems, and a deep understanding of the electricity sector.

Paul Ridley-Smith LLB, MBA (Columbia)


Photo of Paul Ridley-Smith

Paul joined the Board in January 2016 as chair. He is a senior executive at Morrison & Co, the manager of Infratil, Trustpower’s largest shareholder. Paul first joined Morrison & Co in 1998, re-joining in 2015 after 4 years as general counsel at Contact Energy. He has been a director of various Infratil group companies, including Wellington International Airport and iSite Media. He is currently an independent director of listed resthome operator, Arvida Group. Paul has a Bachelor of Laws from Victoria University and a Masters of Business Administration from Columbia University. Paul is a non-independent director due to his association with Infratil, Trustpower's largest shareholder.

Photo of Kevin Baker

Kevin Baker BMS


Kevin joined the Trustpower Board in June 2018. His 25 year executive career has covered energy, airports, retirement living, transport and data centres. Kevin was previously Morrison & Co's CFO and an executive director from 2010 – 2019, CFO of Infratil from 2005 to 2014 and Natural Gas Corporation Holdings Ltd from 1999 to 2005. He is a director of CDC Data Centres, Trustpower and Infratil Infrastructure Property. He has been a director of Lumo Energy / Infratil Energy Australia, Metlifecare, and Wellington International Airport. Kevin was for 6 years a member of the New Zealand Market Disciplinary Tribunal, retiring from that position on 31 March 2018. Kevin is a non-independent director due to his association with Infratil, Trustpower's largest shareholder.

Photo of David Gibson

David Gibson BCom, LLB (HONS)


David is currently a director of NZME Limited and Rangatira Limited. He is also on the Board of trustees of Diocesan School for Girls. His career background is in corporate finance with 17 years experience at Deutsche Bank and Deutsche Craigs in New Zealand. He has a BCom LLB (Hons) degree from University of Canterbury.


Susan Peterson BCom, LLB


Susan is currently an Independent Director on, NZX and ASX listed companies Xero Limited and Vista Group International Limited and NZX listed company Property for Industry Limited. Susan is also on the Board of Global Women and a Chairman/Shareholder in Organic Initiative Limited. Susan is a Member of the NZ Markets Disciplinary Tribunal. Susan’s earlier career was in law and financial services where she held a number of senior executive roles at ANZ. Susan has been an independent director of Trustpower since 27 August 2015.


Dr David Prentice BEng (HONS), PhD, FEngNZ

Chief Executive and Non-Independent Director

David is Chief Executive of Trustpower Limited and a non-independent Director on the Board (since 26 July 2019). He was appointed CEO in Jan 2020 in an acting capacity following the departure of the previous CEO, Vince Hawksworth. David was most recently the Chair of the Interim Committee for Climate Change – an independent organisation tasked with providing analysis and recommendations to Government regarding emissions from agriculture and electricity generation. Prior to this, he was Chief Executive and Managing Director of Opus International Consultants, an NZX listed global infrastructure professional services company employing around 3000 people in 80 offices. He also served on the Board of Directors for Opus as a non-independent and executive board member. David graduated from the University of Edinburgh with a Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) degree and a PhD in Engineering and came to New Zealand as a Civil Engineer in 1997. He was Chairman of Business New Zealand’s Infrastructure sub-group for 5 years, is a member of the Institute of Directors, and a Fellow of Engineering New Zealand. David was also appointed as Chair of Martin Jenkins in Dec 2019.


Peter Coman BA, BPA, MSc


Peter is head of social infrastructure investing at Morrison & Co and a member of the Morrison & Co Management Committee. He is currently chair of RetireAustralia and of Infratil Infrastructure Property Ltd. His career background is in infrastructure and property investment management with 20 years experience in New Zealand and the United Kingdom. He has BA and BPA degrees from Auckland University and a MSc degree from Cass Business School, London. Peter is a non-independent director due to his association with Infratil, Trustpower's largest shareholder


Dr Keith Turner PhD in Engineering


Dr Keith Turner spent his 40 year executive career in the New Zealand electricity industry. He has a PhD in engineering, is a Distinguished Fellow of IPENZ and holds the Sir William Pickering Medal for Engineering Leadership. Keith joined the NZED from Rotorua Boys High School in 1968. As a young engineer, he specialized in HVDC technologies, including a CBI scholarship to the UK, before heading NZED’s, and then ECNZ’s, power planning and developement groups during the 80’s. After attending Stanford University in California in 1990, he became Managing Director, DesignPower and then the Chief Operating Officer for ECNZ prior to its breakup in 1995. He had leading roles in renegotiating the Maui Gas Contract, Comalco Aluminium Smelter supply contract, the completion of Clyde Dam and the start of the Manapouri Second Tunnel project. During the period 1985-1995 he took a leadership role in reform of the Electricity Industry, both in industry review teams and acting for the Government on a range of industry Boards to establish M-Co ( the new market operator), Transpower, Contact Energy and Meridian Energy. He became an inaugural member of the Electricity Market Surveillance Committee in 1996. In 1999 he became the first Chief Executive of Meridian Energy following the breakup of ECNZ, a role he held for 9 years, before retiring in 2008. He is currently Chair of Fisher and Paykel Appliances, and a Director of Victoria Power Networks, SA Power Networks and TransGrid in Australia. He was formerly Deputy Chair of Auckland International Airport Board, a Director of Spark Infrastructure (Aus), Chorus, and Chair of Team NZ. Keith joined the Trustpower Board on 26 July 2019 and is a non-independent director due to his association with Tauranga Energy Consumer Trust, a major shareholder in Trustpower.