Welcome to Trustpower. The browser that you are currently using is not supported by this site. For best results please upgrade your browser.
Retrieving Data

The Whalan Lodge Trust has won the 2018 Waitaki Supreme Award at the greatest annual celebration of volunteers, the Trustpower Community Awards.

Voluntary groups from Ashburton Timaru and Waitaki gathered with representatives from Trustpower, Ashburton, Timaru and Waitaki District Council and the community at the Ashburton Trust Events Centre to hear how 15 groups and three young people are making an impact in their community.

Trustpower Community and Communications Advisor Ashleigh Cleaver says Whalan Lodge Trust were a top pick due to their mammoth efforts and dedication to keeping Kurow’s only rest home open and thriving.

“With the communities support and the volunteers, the home now has thirteen residents with a waiting list in tow” says Ms Cleaver.

“Volunteers provide a multitude of services to keep the home up and running from cleaning, food preparation, gardening, supplying firewood and produce. They host movie afternoons which residents as well as the community attend, meals on wheels and exercise sessions too.”

In attendance for winning the Supreme Award, The Whalan Lodge Trust received a framed certificate, a trophy, and $2,000 prize money.

The group will go on to represent Waitaki at the 2018 Trustpower National Community Awards, when volunteers from 26 regions from around New Zealand gather in Tauranga next March.

It’s the first time Ashburton, Timaru and Waitaki have celebrated together at a single awards function and the venue location will alternate between the three regions each year.

Other winners at tonight’s Trustpower Community Awards for Ashburton, Timaru and Waitaki were:

Youth Community Spirit
Finalist – Summer Anderson
Finalist – Ben Hargreaves
Finalist- Laura Seyb
Winner Ashburton – Rosie Smith
Winner Timaru – Blake Steel
Winner Waitaki – Georgia Vickers

Trustpower Community Awards Finalists
Hospice Mid Canterbury Trust
Mid Canterbury Youth Charitable Trust
Mt Hutt Ski Area & Methven Lions
House of Breakthrough Oamaru
The Friends of Ashburton Hospital & Turangi Home
SeniorNet South Canterbury
Geraldine Ukulele
South Canterbury Roller Sports Club
Forest & Bird – Waitaki Branch
House of Breakthrough Oamaru
North Otago Riding for the Disabled
SeniorNet South Canterbury

Trustpower Community Awards Recipients
Age Concern Ashburton
Aoraki Migrant Centre
Special Olympics North Otago
Heart Kids South Canterbury
Lions Club of Ashburton
Vanished World
South Canterbury Indian Cultural Society
Waitaki Community Gardens
Lions Club of Ashburton County
Timaru Blind Foundation Community Committee
Waitaki Resource Recovery Trust 

Supreme Winner – Ashburton
Lauriston School Support

Supreme Winner – Timaru
Alzheimer’s South Canterbury

Supreme Winner – Waitaki
The Whalan Lodge Trust