Welcome to Trustpower. The browser that you are currently using is not supported by this site. For best results please upgrade your browser.
Retrieving Data

Lauriston School Support has won the 2018 Supreme Award at Ashburton’s greatest annual celebration of volunteers, the Trustpower Community Awards.

Voluntary groups from Ashburton Timaru and Waitaki gathered with representatives from Trustpower, Ashburton, Timaru and Waitaki District Council and the community at the Ashburton Trust Events Centre to hear how 15 groups and three young people are making an impact in their community.

Trustpower Community and Communications Advisor Ashleigh Cleaver says Lauriston School Support were a top choice due to unyielding efforts to provide the best educational experience for students at Lauriston.

When school pools were being shut down due to a lack of funding, the Lauriston Community identified swim education as being important and that the LSS would do whatever was necessary for the school pool to remain functioning”

“Through massive funding of the group, and approaching local businesses and the community with partnership opportunities they had the funds required to push ahead”

“Not only this, but the group have funnelled loads of other funds they’ve raised into the school supporting the costs for outdoor education and camps for the whole school, educational toys and modern learning environment furniture for classrooms, technology such as IPad and computers, play-ground repairs and the running of the school swimming pool”

In attendance for winning the Supreme Award, Lauriston School Support received a framed certificate, a trophy, and $2,000 prize money.

The group will go on to represent Ashburton at the 2018 Trustpower National Community Awards, when volunteers from 26 regions from around New Zealand gather in Tauranga next March.

It’s the first time Ashburton, Timaru and Waitaki have celebrated together at a single awards function and the venue location will alternate between the three regions each year.

Other winners at tonight’s Trustpower Community Awards for Ashburton, Timaru and Waitaki were:

Youth Community Spirit
Finalist – Summer Anderson
Finalist – Ben Hargreaves
Finalist- Laura Seyb
Winner Ashburton – Rosie Smith
Winner Timaru – Blake Steel
Winner Waitaki – Georgia Vickers

Trustpower Community Awards Finalists
Hospice Mid Canterbury Trust
Mid Canterbury Youth Charitable Trust
Mt Hutt Ski Area & Methven Lions
House of Breakthrough Oamaru
The Friends of Ashburton Hospital & Turangi Home
SeniorNet South Canterbury
Geraldine Ukulele
South Canterbury Roller Sports Club
Forest & Bird – Waitaki Branch
House of Breakthrough Oamaru
North Otago Riding for the Disabled
SeniorNet South Canterbury

Trustpower Community Awards Recipients
Age Concern Ashburton
Aoraki Migrant Centre
Special Olympics North Otago
Heart Kids South Canterbury
Lions Club of Ashburton
Vanished World
South Canterbury Indian Cultural Society
Waitaki Community Gardens
Lions Club of Ashburton County
Timaru Blind Foundation Community Committee
Waitaki Resource Recovery Trust 

Supreme Winner – Ashburton
Lauriston School Support

Supreme Winner – Timaru
Alzheimer’s South Canterbury

Supreme Winner – Waitaki
The Whalan Lodge Trust