Welcome to Trustpower. The browser that you are currently using is not supported by this site. For best results please upgrade your browser.
Retrieving Data

Community Promotions Group has taken top honours for Grey District at the West Coast’s biggest annual celebration of volunteers, the Trustpower Community Awards.

Voluntary groups from Buller, Grey and Westland Districts, together with representatives from Trustpower, Buller, Grey and Westland District Councils, and the community, gathered at Greymouth’s Regent Theatre to hear how 24 groups and 10 young people are making an impact in their community.

Trustpower Community and Communications Advisor Abbie Siely says Community Promotions Group’s work to bring Christmas cheer to its community showed tenacity and had real impact.

“Many people might be surprised to learn that it was a core group of just five volunteers behind the fundraising and organising of the five days of festive activities that Greymouth hosted last Christmas.

“Together with the generous support of local businesses, the group brought an ice skating rink to town. They coordinated the unveiling of the new town square, featuring the town Christmas tree. The group worked with The Hits radio station to host the Christmas Concert, fundraised to bring bumper boats and other children’s attractions to town. They coordinated markets and entertainment, and generally treated the people of Greymouth to five days of pure cheer and Christmas delight,” Siely said.

For winning the Supreme Award, Community Promotions Group received a framed certificate, a trophy, and $2,000 prize money.

The group will go on to represent Grey District at the 2018 Trustpower National Community Awards, when volunteers from 26 regions from around New Zealand gather in Tauranga next March.

Other winners at tonight’s Trustpower Community Awards for Buller, Grey and Westland Districts were:

Youth Community Spirit Finalists
Roisin Blundell
Jayshri Ratnam
Janae Fitzgerald
Sam Wallis
Annie Molloy
Kaitlin Keenan
Alex Foster

Youth Community Spirit Award Winners
Bridie Kitchin – Buller
Jake Lacey – Grey
Joe Glancy – Westland

Trustpower Community Awards Finalists
CommuniTea Northern Buller
Reefton Siedo Karate Club
Homebuilders West Coast Trust
Foster Hope West Coast
West Coast Stroke Support
SPCA Greymouth
Hokitika Community Patrol
Kaniere Playcentre
All Saints Church

Trustpower Community Awards Recipients
Westport Menz Shed
Little Wanganui Recreation and Reserve Board
West Coast Adult Learning Services Inc
Buller Women's Health Fund
Victim Support Grey District
St John Youth Greymouth
Greymouth Motorcycle Street Race Committee
The Shed
Westland Community Centre
Franz Josef Community Council
MS West Coast Incorporated
South Westland Netball Association

Supreme Winner – Buller District
Reefton Returned and Services Association

Supreme Winner – Grey District
Community Promotions Group

Supreme Winner – Westland District
Lions Club of Hokitika