Welcome to Trustpower. The browser that you are currently using is not supported by this site. For best results please upgrade your browser.
Retrieving Data
This project not only raised the funds needed to secure the MRI scanner, but they went above and beyond raising an extra $400,000 which is testament to the community support behind this project.
Emily Beaton, Trustpower Community Relations Representative

Aoraki Foundation has won the Supreme Award at the 2014 Trustpower Timaru District Community Awards.

The Awards were announced and presented tonight (Monday 14 July) at a function at the Timaru District Council Chambers.

For winning the Supreme Award, Aoraki Foundation received a framed certificate, a trophy and $1,500 prize money. Aoraki Foundation now has the opportunity to represent the district at the 2014 Trustpower National Community Awards, which are being held in Wellington in March 2015.

In total, Trustpower has given away over $5,000 to various community groups through tonight’s Awards.

Trustpower Community Relations Representative Emily Beaton says that the Aoraki Foundation “Have made an outstanding contribution to the South Canterbury community by securing an MRI Scanner. This will benefit at least 1,400 people a year who will no longer have to travel to Christchurch and it means easier access and earlier diagnosis for patients, less travel time and cost and less reliance on invasive procedures to investigate health problems.

This project is the culmination of a community getting behind a cause and going for it and the fact that $400,000 extra was raised is a testament to the generous and caring nature of this community.

We are looking forward to having the Aoraki Foundation attend the Nationals weekend in March 2015 when they represent the Timaru District,” says Miss Beaton.

The Aoraki Foundation also won the Health and Well-being category at tonight’s awards.

Other winners at tonight’s Trustpower Timaru District Community Awards were:

Heritage and Environment
Joint Winner: Geraldine Historical Society Museum
Joint Winner: Pleasant Point Railway and Historical Society

Health and Well Being
Commendation: Presbyterian Support South Canterbury
Runner-Up: Order of St John
Winner: Aoraki Foundation

Arts and Culture
Commendation: South Canterbury International Festival
Runner-Up: InHarmony Choir
Winner: Plunket Art Show Fundraising Committee

Sport and Leisure
Runner- up: Central South Island Charity Bike Ride
Winner: Pleasant Point Rugby Football Club 125 Jubilee Committee

Education and Child/Youth Development
Winner: Mid-South Canterbury Life Education Trust

Supreme Winner
Aoraki Foundation

Youth Spirit
Winner: Kimberley Kirkaldie from Opihi College
Runner up: Sean Mulligan from Geraldine High School
Finalist: Oliver Reid from Timaru Boys’ High School
Finalist: Laura Robinson from Craighead Diocesan

Please find attached a full citation for all recipients.

The Awards are being presented at a function this evening, Monday 14 July, at the Timaru District Council Chambers, starting at 6pm. Media are welcome to attend.