Welcome to Trustpower. The browser that you are currently using is not supported by this site. For best results please upgrade your browser.
Retrieving Data
Last year’s Trustpower Wairoa Community Awards Supreme Winner was the Wairoa Dialysis Society Inc.

Entries for the TrustPower Wairoa Community Awards open today, Monday 10 June. The Awards, which are run in partnership with the Wairoa District Council, are open to all voluntary groups and organisations working to make the Wairoa District a better place to live. 

Since the TrustPower Wairoa Community Awards began 12 years ago, more than $64,000 has been given away to deserving local voluntary groups and organisations. This year more than $5000 is up for grabs. 

Anyone can enter a voluntary group or organisation for the TrustPower Wairoa Community Awards – voluntary groups and organisations can even enter themselves.

Last year 22 groups were entered for the TrustPower Wairoa Community Awards. This is the best effort yet, which was also achieved in 2010. TrustPower’s Community Relations Coordinator Suzi Luff believes there are still plenty of voluntary groups out there who deserve recognition. 

“The Wairoa District is a resourceful part of the country with a great sense of community. Through the TrustPower Wairoa Community Awards every year, more groups surface that are doing amazing things for the benefit of the entire community. 

Many activities, events, projects, programmes, sports, and services are provided thanks to the region’s hard working volunteers. But often they are not recognised for the invaluable work they do. 

Now you have the chance to say ‘thank you’ to these volunteers who work hard to improve the community – just by filling out an entry form. It takes just a few minutes of your time to enter a voluntary group but it will make a real difference to the volunteers you are recognising,” says Suzi. 

Entry Forms for the TrustPower Community Awards are available from the Council offices or service centres or can be completed online by clicking here. Entry Forms can also be received by calling Suzi Luff on 0800 87 11 11. 

The awards cover five categories; Heritage and Environment, Health and Wellbeing, Arts and Culture, Sport and Leisure, and Educational and Child/Youth Development. Category winners receive $500, runners-up receive $250 and the Supreme Winner will take home $1,500 and an all-expenses paid trip to the 2013 TrustPower National Community Awards being held in the Invercargill and Southland regions in March 2014. Last year’s TrustPower Wairoa Community Awards Supreme Winner was the Wairoa Dialysis Society Inc. 

Entries for the TrustPower Wairoa Community Awards close at 5pm on Friday 9 August 2013. 

For more information, contact:


Suzi Luff

Community Relations Coordinator


(07) 572 8381 or 021 220 8894