Welcome to Trustpower. The browser that you are currently using is not supported by this site. For best results please upgrade your browser.
Retrieving Data

The Awards, which are run in partnership with TrustPower, the Taupo District Council and the Radio Network Taupo, are open to all voluntary groups and individuals working to make Taupo a better place to live. 

Since the TrustPower Taupo District Community Awards began in 1999 more than $70,000 has been given away to deserving voluntary groups and organisations. This year more than $5,000 is up for grabs. 

Anyone can enter a voluntary group into the TrustPower Taupo District Community Awards and any individual into the Classic Hits Volunteer of the Year Award – voluntary groups can even enter themselves. 

Last year 76 groups were entered for the TrustPower Taupo District Community Awards – which was the highest number ever. TrustPower Community Relations Representative Teresa Partridge believes there are still many more voluntary groups and individuals out there who deserve recognition.  

“Taupo is a community-minded city that has an impressive volunteering culture. I’m looking forward to learning about what these volunteers have been achieving, and I hope to see the community come on board to recognise these unsung heroes,” says Mrs Partridge. 

Taupo District Mayor Rick Cooper is excited to recognise and thank volunteers in the district again this year. 

“Volunteers are not paid because they are worthless, it is because they are priceless and they form the very social fabric of our vibrant District,” explains Mayor Cooper. 

The Radio Network Taupo values the importance of the TrustPower Taupo District Community Awards and its position in celebrating the region’s voluntary groups and it wanted to extend this to individuals.

“The awards are an important part of serving the community we work in, we were pleased with the five entries last year and want to see even more this year,” says Stephen Spargo, Promotion/Account Manager of The Radio Network Taupo. 

You have the chance to say ‘thank you’ to these volunteers who work hard to improve the community – just by filling out an entry form. It takes just a few minutes of your time to enter a voluntary group or individual but it will make a real difference to the volunteers you are recognising.

Entry Forms for the TrustPower Community Awards and Classic Hits Volunteer of the Year Award are available from the Great Lake Centre, Council offices or service centres, can be completed online by clicking here or can also be received by calling Teresa Partridge on 0800 87 11 11. Forms can also be collected from the Radio Network or by phoning them on 07 376 0550. 

The awards cover five categories; Heritage and Environment, Health and Wellbeing, Arts and Culture, Sport and Leisure, and Educational and Child/Youth Development. Category winners receive $500, runners-up receive $250 and the Supreme Winner will take home $1,500 and an all-expenses paid trip to the 2013 TrustPower National Community Awards. Last year’s TrustPower Taupo District Community Awards Supreme Winner was Tongariro National Trout Centre. 

Entries for the TrustPower Taupo District Community Awards close at 5pm on Friday 19 July. 

 For more information, contact:


Teresa Partridge

Community Relations Representative


(07) 572 9349